The Sunday Service ep.2

I can’t believe it’s Sunday again.

So many plans for this thrown to the wayside and abandoned for the week. That said, I’ll always have plenty of little things to share and a metric shit-ton of music. That said:

http://www.pcgamer.com/2014/05/08/three-lane-highway-revisited-anger-as-failure-and-other-thoughts-on-empathy-in-dota/

I’m a huge fan of three lane highway, there’s a lot of introspective discussion on the behemoth that is DotA/Dota 2 and the ridiculous things that happen in and around the games. I think a lot of my love comes from the fact I’ve been playing games in the genre for around 8 years now and I’ve been through the gamut myself. It’s a harsh world out there and I’ve only a few Swedish people to protect me from the horrors of being a terrible English gamer. 

https://fearofdark.bandcamp.com/album/motorway

I love chiptunes. Let’s just get this straight right now, I have no idea when it happened or how it happened but I love chiptunes and most things associated with them. I think Disasterpeace’s ‘Rise of the Obsidian Interstellar’ was the first album that showed me that there were people writing interesting music using these timbres/sounds and it really clicked with me. Motorway is a subtle fusion between the catchy melody-focused chiptunes and the syncopations of jazz/funk music that, when it works, really works. 23rd Century Life is a magnificent opening track and the minute-long build up to Suburban Supernatural doesn’t reduce my excitement when the first glimmer of a tune sneaks out of the dissonance. The rest of the album will surprise you with its combination of musical styles and perhaps my strongest criticism would be that, for all of the interesting stylistic fusions that exist within the album, it peters out in a very uninteresting way. That said, the moment itself is in contrast with so many of the other things that have happened so I suppose it could be forgiven for that. Opinions. Listen, love, buy.  

Say something

